The Scrap House

Happy New Year!, In April… | April 5, 2011

Sad but true, this is the first post this year. Amazing what living 400 miles from a project does to progress. It’s like building a ship in a bottle, except that it’s not like that in almost any way. However, during Spring break, progress was made. I had about three days at my disposal so the living room of the house got some attention.

I don’t have in-progress photos because I’m a terrible person. I just have the end results of the day. However, I finished the tar-paper underlayment of the walls, then finished putting up the kite material, and then trimmed. The trim has a couple rough edges because, well, I’m not great at doing trim.I need to tighten the walls in a couple places, but overall I’m rather pleased with the results.

Standing in the kitchen looking towards the door:

Generic Artistic Angle Shot, To Left of Door:

Now, to the right of the door you’ll notice the trim under the window. I didn’t have enough of any one type of trim to frame that space completely, and besides, I needed a rather wide piece for the gaps. So, the bottom half is done with a different, thicker, trim. It, uhh… adds character.

A little strange, but nothing terrible looking in my opinion.

The area next to the kitchen got done too. It’s not as taught as I’d like, but I can work on it later. There weren’t as many studs to tie into as I’d have liked, and I should probably have added some furring strips.

The fabric wrapping around the corner was one piece, so it kind of looks like a giant half-tuna half-airplane was crashing.


The circuit panel is going to remain exposed like that. It’s a very nice laminated one from a yacht, so it’s kind of pretty in its own right. In addition, it is close enough to the loft that you could lean over the edge and flip the breakers to turn off the lights if you wanted to before going to bed.

Lastly I need to¬† mention a gift the house received. Our awesome neighbor April gave me this photo she took to hang up in the house. It fits the color scheme shockingly well. I’m guessing it will end up in the kitchen, as I haven’t yet figured out how to hang something without damaging the soft walls. Either way, Thanks April!

 

Next time will likely be the summer, sadly. It’s getting incredibly close though. A couple more pieces of trim and the living room is completely done. The bathroom just needs trim and paint. In the kitchen the countertops are done, as are the cabinets and floor. I need to finished making the sink, plumb the whole thing, and then install paneling. All in good time.
I’m still not sure what the ceiling is going to be. I’m holding off doing any ceiling treatment, as we don’t know the final plans for the house yet. It’s very possible that it will be moved again, and if it is, it’s very possible that the roof will be cut off in the process. Because of this, I’m trying to keep it as modular as possible. If/when I rebuild the roof, I’ll likely add some wide dormer windows in the loft. I regret not having thought of that design when building it, as it’s essentially free space. Besides, I have the perfect crank-out window for it already! This is what I’m talking about:

Photo credit and a gorgeous design goes to http://www.goldthreadtinyhouse.blogspot.com/

 

Alright, that’s it for now. Peace everyone!

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. those are the best walls ever it must be like being in a comic book of like futuristic flying fish ship things when they go on an underwater mission…er maybe it’s time for me to go to bed…too much internet info, over saturated…great project can’t wait to see the finished house :)

    Comment by Heidi — April 29, 2011 @ 4:14 am

  2. I just found your blog and I am having a enjoyable read. I just started my tiny house build.

    Comment by tylerstinyhouse — September 14, 2012 @ 8:54 am


Leave a Reply

About author

This blog is dedicated to an experiment a group of three other fellow students and I are doing at our school in Buxton, NC. My Drafting III class and I set out to see if we could build a house for free. It's small, but functional. All the materials come out of dumpsters. And most of all, it's working.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

