The Scrap House

Shingled Out | May 28, 2009

Today worked out. We have our fridge inside delivering lovely cold drinks, and we hit a great music vein today. To have music while we work, I open up my car(The brown one previously pictured.) and we use my phone with Pandora going through the stereo. We take turns day to day picking the starting point for Pandora, but today it started with They Might Be Giants. Well, normally, no matter what you say, Pandora takes you to Bruce Springsteen, who I still don’t like.  But today we hit that lovely 90’s flow of alternative grudge-ish rock. TMBG, Cake, Supergrass, Barenaked Ladies, Presidents of the USA… it worked. So, maybe the amount of work we get done is proportional to the goodness of the music. Oh well. Aside from that note, we almost got the roof done. The side I was working on is done except for the top cap, and Havard got the other side about 3/4th.  The colors are still a bit weird, but oh well. We ended up running out of shingles, but I’ve got a lead on some more, so we’re good.

102_0169

102_0174

Hyatt worked on the side some more. It’s looking great. Once you get siding on, the height of the trim around the windows is less pronounced, so it all vibes together. Whoever invented vinyl siding presumably knew that cedar shakes existed. But he just kept inventing vinyl siding. Heartless jerk. Such a wonderful material, it’s pretty and makes you smell like a sauna.

102_0170

102_0172

Past that, I half-heartedly started shaking the front while Hyatt and Havard did some clean-up work. I didn’t work for long, so I only did a couple rows. So tomorrow we’ll finish doing the roof and then probably start framing the door. It’s pretty slick that the roof is now water proof… you look up and don’t see sky, nifty!

102_0171

102_0173

I ended the last post with a quote from the song I was listening to at the time. Well, Climbing the Walls by TMBG is playing on Pandora right now, and somehow it just seems poignant. So we’ll use that ending scheme again.

Too much junk, too much junk
Can we please clear out this house?
In the trunk, in the trunk
And then we'll take it all to the dump
Then we won't need the car
'Cause we'll stay where we are
And I'll have all this room

Goodbye my liege, goodbye. Peace. -Ted

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I am still really enjoying your posts, and your progress. Will you get some pictures of the inside too? Preferably with people in them for scale.Thanks

    Comment by Elizabeth Goertz — May 29, 2009 @ 9:33 am

  2. America’s (and my) favorite four letter word:

    FREE!!

    Your project is very encouraging. I myself have been collecting old windows and really old doors(to use as siding) for my own little snug, next to my creek.

    Comment by Debra — May 29, 2009 @ 5:53 pm

  3. I’m always amazed by how y’all seem to just know how to do all of these things…

    Comment by Em — June 1, 2009 @ 12:03 am


Leave a Reply

About author

This blog is dedicated to an experiment a group of three other fellow students and I are doing at our school in Buxton, NC. My Drafting III class and I set out to see if we could build a house for free. It's small, but functional. All the materials come out of dumpsters. And most of all, it's working.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

