The Scrap House

So much for the straight and narrow. | June 7, 2009

I know it’s been a while. Watcha gonna do? Schools been wrapping up so we’ve all been pretty busy. But we did get some work done.

I’ve just been working on the shakes. The problem is we don’t have any more… so… umm, hopefully Craigslist will prevail. We’ll see. But I got all but a couple rows done on the front, then we only have one side left to do. I also started the trim on that one side. We had to section it pretty extremely on the table saw, so that trim is going to take a little extra time.

102_0215

Hyatt straddled the roof for most of the day. He got the top cap done and the front side evened up. It looks nice, and the roof is now officially done.

102_0213

And sadly enough, because of our material roadblock, that’s all we were really able to do. It’s a bit funny that it took this long for materials to be a truly limiting factor, but oh well. We’ll find some shakes somewhere. Then we have to start thinking about moving it. The interior won’t be done by the time it has to leave school grounds, so that will take place gradually over the summer in my front yard.

The only new materials we’ve gotten in the past couple days is some nice lauan. Havard and I got bored, went to the dump, and they had a nice 8×4 piece of lauan. I still am amazed at the thought of finding full size materials at the dump. No nails, no cracks… go figure. It’ll probably become the bathroom walls and ceiling. Clarence also has a cameo in that pic.

102_0219

Finally, Charlie took this picture of me and wanted me to put it up. So here it is.

102_0218

Sanuks for the win. Alright, well, I’ll be bach. You can be Vivaldi. Peace. -Ted

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

This blog is dedicated to an experiment a group of three other fellow students and I are doing at our school in Buxton, NC. My Drafting III class and I set out to see if we could build a house for free. It's small, but functional. All the materials come out of dumpsters. And most of all, it's working.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

