The Scrap House

Last but probably least. | June 13, 2009

Wow. That was a depressing start. I apologize. Well, you might have realized that my posts have been fewer and farther between. Sorry. School is wrapping up, graduation, you know… stuff to do. So we haven’t had the stuctured time to work on the house. We have been doing work though. First off, we got a whole bunch of cedar shakes. All from the same man, Buddy McDaniels. I hope I’m spelling his name right. Buddy has quite the collection of lumber strewn across his various properties. He’s the type of man I could only hope to be one day, a kinder man you will not find. We went by his house and after intricately studying his barn, the contents therein, and his turkey pen(built for free I might add), he rustled through a couple piles and found these shakes for us. It’s the kind of place only true scrap junkies understand. From the outside perspective, it looks chaotic. But you better believe he knows exactly where every piece is. Anyway, because of his kindness, we now have more than enough to finish the remaining side.

102_0236

Now, you might be thinking, to finish shaking that side, you had to finish plywooding, and to finish plywooding, you had to finish plumbing… Ah ha! Indeed. Hyatt fiberglassed over the existing holes in the shower, and then using a wonderful combination of adapters, we used the faucet off of one of the sinks we already had. It’s a little wonkey, but it works. The plumbing leading up to the shower head will be exposed, but a lot of showers, mainly outside, are done like that around here, so we figured it’d pass.

102_0223

102_0221

102_0222

102_0224

With that done, we plywooded and started shaking. But with some phenol barbital we got that stopped. Sorry. That joke was probably inappropriate. Your honor, I apologize. Anyway, I like this photo. It shows the variety of plywood and various wall coverings available on today’s market. 😉

102_0225

And with some various and questionable tar papering, we got the first row of shingles down.

102_0227

But alas! I need to back-track. When you don’t post often enough, you forget what’s been said. So we’re gonna have to take care of that. First off, we got the soffits done. There are two ways to do soffits, flying and, well, something else I’ve now forgotten. We did neither. Hyatt decided if we cut the edge of a piece of 1×6 at a 45 degree angle and then cut it to width between the rafters, it’d achieve the same affect. And I was obliged to agree. This also allowed us to keep the rafters exposed, a look I kind of like. We’ve since caulked them, so they’re nice and watertight.

IMG00840

And that friends, means the house is officially in the dry. Insert pyrotechnics here. What can you do when something is dry? Well, carpet of course. We found some lovely thick berber. Well, we actually bought it. But Hyatt wanted it anyway because he was making some sub enclosures, plus they needed a patch for their shop I think. So it was kinda sorta scrap. Besides, it was on sale. 16 foot roll for $5. I think it’ll pass. The loft is just great now. It’s wide enough to lay width-wise, and when you do and look up it creates this cool illusion… the ceiling opposite of you looks perfectly horizontal, making the ceiling above you look perfectly vertical. So it looks like you’re laying in a square, rather than a triangle. It’s hard to explain I guess. Either way, it is now plush. Frankly, the floor in the loft was so uneven(It’s about 16 pieces of ply) that carpet was the only choice, but for a sleeping area it works well.

IMG00839

IMG00841

It’s actually really nice carpet. For more info, just dial 1-800 I REALLY ENJOY CARPETING.

You either get that joke or you don’t. Sorry. Let’s see, what else have we done? Umm… We did the kitchen ceiling. We went with that nice piece of cedar like we were planning. It’s not exactly a traditional finish, but I think it looks good, if a little different. Hey, we won’t have a moth problem! That white streak is just the wire for the light.

IMG00836

Oddly enough, we got another sink. Yes, that’s the fifth one. You think nice stainless steel sinks would be hard to find, but apparently not. You can’t give these things away! Well, actually, you can, but not a dollar more! This one came from the dump. I just have a hard time turning down stainless.

IMG00833

This post is getting long… hmm. What else? Oh, we got a toilet paper holder. How exciting.

IMG00842

We also finished shaking the other side and front.

102_0229

This is getting abstract. So what about this photo of a cat I just took a few minutes ago in our garage? That works.

102_0244

And I thought this was kind of funny. As I was walking out of the school to leave today, I just sort of noticed how long my car was compared to the house. So I figured it would be a neat perspective shot. Then when I looked at it later, I noticed the expression on Hyatt’s face. Why was he so freaking confused looking? Oh well. Surprise!

102_0230

*Cropped for your convenience*

102_02302

Well, the truth is, this is probably going to be the last post in a while. Graduation is tomorrow, and after that I am going to be out of town for a few weeks. So I doubt much work will get done then. However, after I get back, the real excitement happens. The house can’t stay at the school forever, so I’ll have to document the moving project. We’re going to cut the pilings, put it on a trailer, and tow it the 22 miles to my front yard. The interesting part is we only have 15 feet of clearance under the cables, and the house is 13.5 feet. So we don’t have too much wiggle room. But I’m sure it’ll be fine. I actually have a pretty good amount of confidence in the house’s structural integrity. But what fun the process will be. Well, thanks for everything guys! I’ll be back, don’t cha worry. I’m going to finish this post with a quote, a quote Hyatt is going to use in his graduation speech tomorrow, in fact.  It’s from Jay Leno, a personal hero of mine. But more so, it’s Leno as… the Crimson Chin!

“As long is there is one burning ember on the barbecue of justice, we can still cook a mighty steak of victory.”

Who cares? I’m a vegequarian, and I’m done. 😉 Peace. -Ted

102_0228

102_0229

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Dude, it sounds like sleep deprivation, or maybe you’ve been breathing in that fiber glass stuff! Cute cat though. I hope you guys will keep up the good work and keep posting. I cant wate to see it finished out, furnished and perhaps pictures of the inaugural party.

    Comment by Elizabeth Goertz — June 13, 2009 @ 10:42 am

    • Why does it sound like sleep deprivation? Was my post that non-nonsensical? You’re right, we should have mixed the shingles, the problem was we got them in stages, so we put up what we had when we had it. It’s not ideal, but it works. Glad you made it make safely from Scotland, I’m actually headed to Ireland next week. But once I get back the progress will continue and I’ll keep posting. Thanks for the support. -Ted

      Comment by austinminiman — June 13, 2009 @ 11:22 am

  2. Sorry you haven’t gotten your usual fan mail lately, I’ve been in Scotland.
    Next time, mix up the roof shingles for a more pleasing roof. Grin.

    Comment by Elizabeth Goertz — June 13, 2009 @ 10:47 am

  3. I’m an old lady who was wandering around and found your blog. I’m so impressed that you boys decided one day to do this project and all from free stuff ~ or nearly free. There was that $5 carpeting. =)

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog from the start to the finish, or the finish so far, anyway. You have a terrific sense of humor, and I expect you’ll be able to accomplish pretty much anything you decide to in life, if you apply the same degree of dedication you did in this project.

    Now, who gets to live in the house? =)

    Comment by Susan — June 18, 2009 @ 1:23 am

    • Hi Susan,
      Thanks for the kind words! Well, the rest of the carpet had another use, so it was TECHNICALLY scrap. Wink Wink. Oh well.

      As profound as it sounds… umm, well, noone is really going to live in the house. It’s going in my front yard, so it’ll be kind of a guest house/club house kind of deal. Epic tree house?

      We’re gonna have to move it… in fact I’m about to post about that. I’m in Ireland at the moment, so maybe I’ll have an epiphany before I get back. Thanks again! -Ted

      Comment by austinminiman — June 21, 2009 @ 6:46 am


Leave a Reply

About author

This blog is dedicated to an experiment a group of three other fellow students and I are doing at our school in Buxton, NC. My Drafting III class and I set out to see if we could build a house for free. It's small, but functional. All the materials come out of dumpsters. And most of all, it's working.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

